PMA columnists win at 2015 Guild of Beer Writers awards

By James Evison

- Last updated on GMT

PMA columnists win at 2015 Guild of Beer Writers awards

Related tags Brewing Beer writer

The Publican's Morning Advertiser's columnists Pete Brown and Roger Protz were both recognised at the British Guild of Beer Writers' annual awards last night.

Brown won the Caledonian Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator - Online, and Roger Protz won the silver award with Adrian Tierney-Jones for Best Beer & Travel Writer.

Beer writer, blogger and photographer Breandán Kearney was also named Beer Writer of the Year as well as Young Beer Writer and Best Beer & Food Writer at the ceremony at the Park Lane Hotel.

Robert Humphreys MBE, chairman of judges for this year’s competition, said, “We were impressed by the quality and variety of this year’s entries. All the judges, including those who’ve worked around brewing and pubs for many years, were excited by what they read and also learned something new.

“The best writing demonstrates passion, curiosity and originality, and there was no shortage of these qualities among the entries.  We’re delighted to see beer writing in such good health and congratulate all our winners.”

Sheila Dillon, presenter of BBC’s The Food Programme and one of this year’s judges, said, “Breandán’s articles were a joy to read; informative, entertaining, full of quirky facts and written in a flowing, accessible style. He also understands that it’s the people behind the beer that make for an interesting story.” 

Humphreys added, “We’re pleased with response to the Best Beer Broadcaster category introduced this year to reward broadcast communicators on mainstream media channels. They play a vital role in taking beer out to a wider public.” 

Humphreys was joined on the judging panel by presenter of BBC's The Food programme, Sheila Dillon,  Sarah Bridge, leisure correspondent at the Mail on Sunday, ​Toby Heasman, head brewer at Hall & Woodhouse, Nick Hewer, Countdown​ presenter and the The Apprentice​ and Larry Nelson, publisher of Brewers’ Guardian​.

The Guild’s Brewer of the Year Award was presented to Jenn Merrick, head brewer at Beavertown Brewery in Hackney Wick, London where she oversees the production of five core beers including Gamma Ray and experiments every few weeks with a new beer  – using new yeasts, barrel ageing or souring.

Guild chairman Tim Hampson said: “In the last 12 months Beavertown has transformed from a hip start up brewery into a brand that is becoming internationally recognised. This is in part due to Jenn Merrick’s brewing creativity, skill and persistence to always make better beer. 

“Jenn has become an inspiration for many other brewers and she is a fantastic advocate for beer culture who has shown a great willingness to share her ideas, especially about slightly wild flavours.”


Brewer of the Year:​ Jenn Merrick, Beavertown Brewery

There’s A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

Winner: Sarah Warman

Badger Ales Award for Best Young Beer Writer of the Year

Winner: Breandán Kearney

Silver Award: Daniel Tapper

Guild Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

Winner: Des de Moor

Silver Award: Roger Protz & Adrian Tierney-Jones

Shepherd Neame Classic Collection Award for Best Beer & Food Writer

Winner: Breandán Kearney

Silver Award: Melissa Cole

Guild Award for Best Beer Writer - Corporate Communications

Winner: Richard Taylor for BrewDog

Caledonian Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator - Online

Winner: Pete Brown

Silver Award: Matthew Curtis

Fuller’s 1845 Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media 

Winner: Jane Peyton

Silver Award: Robyn Black

Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer - Regional Media

Winner: Gavin Aitchison

Silver Award: Alastair Gilmour

Molson Coors Award for Best Beer Writer - National Media

Winner: Martyn Cornell

Silver Award: Tim Hampson

The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2015​: Breandán Kearney 

Related topics Beer

Related news