Save the Pub Group

Mulholland replaced as Save the Pub Group chair

By Nikkie Sutton

- Last updated on GMT

New chair: Toby Perkins has been announced as the new Save the Pub chair
New chair: Toby Perkins has been announced as the new Save the Pub chair

Related tags Toby perkins mp Leeds north west Greg mulholland Toby perkins

Greg Mulholland has been replaced as chair of the Save the Pub Group by Labour MP Toby Perkins.

Leeds North West MP, Mulholland, set up the All-Party Parliamentary Save the Pub Group in 2009 and in that time, the group has been involved in a number of changes to protect pubs​.

This included the Fair Deal for Your Local campaign in 2013 which called on people to back a fairer deal for local pubs.

Caroline Lucas MP, Charlotte Leslie MP and Louise Haigh MP were all re-elected as vice-chairs of the Save the Pub Group.

Being elected to this important role

Mulholland’s replacement is Labour MP for Chesterfield and former shadow pubs minister Toby Perkins, who Mulholland has congratulated on his appointment.

Mulholland said: "I congratulate Toby on being elected to this important role and hope he can ensure the Save the Pub Group continues to be just as successful in campaigning for British pubs and publicans as it has been for the last seven years.

"I am now able to concentrate on the important role of chairing the British Pub Confederation which is currently engaged in the serious issues and problems relating to the pubs code.

"This and the ongoing lack of protection for pubs against predatory purchasing need to be key issues for all pub campaigners going forward."

Proven track record

The Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) chairman Colin Valentine has welcomed Perkins as the new chair.

He said: "We would like to extend our congratulations to Toby Perkins MP for being voted in as chair of the All Party Parliamentary Save the Pubs Group. We are confident that Toby will excel in the new role, given his previous experience as shadow pubs minister and his proven track record supporting UK pubs on a number of issues facing the industry.

"We would also like to extend our thanks to outgoing chair Greg Mulholland MP for all his hard work campaigning for pubs on issues ranging from pubco reform to strengthening planning laws to protect pubs from closure."

'Most precious of all our institutions'

The new chair Perkins said: "Britain’s pubs are among the most precious of all our institutions, and I am thrilled to be elected by colleagues to take on the important work promoting the interests of Britain’s pubs."

He thanked Mulholland for his "hard work over the last seven years" and said he looked forward to building on and renewing the group’s work.

He added: "I will be looking to build a constructive relationship with everyone who is crucial to the success of the British pub industry.

"The meeting also proposed a new work programme for the group which will be looking at issues as varied as planning, supermarkets, community ownership and satellite television provision as well as continuing to press for a successful conclusion to the issues that Greg and I worked on in the last parliament.

"I also look forward to working closely with the elected vice chairs Charlotte Leslie, Louise Haigh and Caroline Lucas."

Related topics Legislation

Related news

Show more