MA’s Beeson takes home coveted beer award

By Nicholas Robinson contact

- Last updated on GMT

Young Beer Writer of the Year: Beeson (third from the left, front) takes home the coveted award
Young Beer Writer of the Year: Beeson (third from the left, front) takes home the coveted award

Related tags: Beer writer, Best beer writer, Brewing, Award, Beer

The Morning Advertiser’s (MA) food and drink reporter James Beeson was awarded the prestigious title of Young Beer Writer of the Year at last night’s British Guild of Beer Writers’ annual awards.

Beeson, who has worked at MA ​for fewer than six months, was shortlisted for two awards – Young Beer Writer of the Year and the Fuller’s London Pride Award for Best Trade Media Writer.

Some 30 beer journalists, writers, bloggers and broadcasted were shortlisted for accolades at last night’s (29 November) awards, which were held at the Park Lane Hotel on Piccadilly.

MA ​columnist and beer writer Pete Brown hosted the event and praised Beeson’s ability to deliver hard-hitting, informative beer scoops in an accessible tone.

Debate-sparking stories

Brown also drew attention to two debate-sparking stories written by Beeson – Garrett Oliver: New England IPA is ‘based around Instagram culture’​and Ban sexist beers from beer competitions, says Wild Card Brewery​– while introducing the event.

Both stories provoked wild debate and conversation across social media this month.

Of his nominations into the awards earlier this month,​ Beeson said: “Being shortlisted by the Guild, less than a year after my first freelance commission, and less than six months after joining MA, ​​is a huge honour.

“To be nominated alongside the likes of Adrian [Tierney-Jones], Matt [Curtis] and Roger [Protz], who have been huge influences on my writing, is genuinely humbling.

Judges included

Judges included Keith Miller, food and drink commissioning editor at The Daily Telegraph​; Bruce Smith, brewer at Maltsmiths Brewing; David Cunningham, programme director at There’s a Beer For That​; and last year’s Beer Writer of the Year Pete Brown.

Adrian Tierney-Jones was crowned this year’s Beer Writer of the Year at the end of the awards.

Meanwhile, regular MA ​contributor and founder of School of Booze Jane Peyton was announced as the runner-up silver award winner of the There’s a Beer For That’s ​Award for Best Beer Broadcast for a programme she made with The Food Programme ​earlier this year.

Of the entries, Brown said earlier: “Whittling the large field of high-quality entries down to a shortlist was a challenge; in some categories, work that would have been in contention to win in past years didn’t make the cut this time, simply because there was so much good stuff. Everyone on the shortlist should be proud of having reached this stage.”

The Winners:

Brewer of the Year

  • Justin Hawke, Moor Beer

Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

  • Winner: Oli Haydon
  • Highly Commended: Matthew Hickman

There’s A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

  • Winner: Lucy Stevenson and Louise Mulroy
  • Silver Award: Jane Peyton

Guild Award for Best Young Beer Writer of the Year

  • Winner: James Beeson
  • Silver Award: Joe Tindall

St Austell Brewery Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

  • Winner: Stephen Beaumont and Tim Webb
  • Silver Award: Chris Elston

Guild Award for Best Beer Writer - Corporate Communications

  • Winner: Carlsberg UK

Maltsmiths Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator - Online

  • Winner: Emma Inch
  • Silver Award: Jonny Garrett

Fuller’s London Pride Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media 

  • Winner: Susanna Forbes
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones

Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer - Regional Media

  • Winner: Simon Jenkins
  • Silver Award: Alastair Gilmour

Shepherd Neame Award for Best Beer Writer - National Media

  • Winner: Adrian Tierney-Jones
  • Silver Award: Will Hawkes

The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2017

  • Adrian Tierney-Jones

Related topics: Beer

Related news