Map: where are pubs under the strictest measures in England?

By Emily Hawkins contact

- Last updated on GMT

Map: where do pubs face the most serve restrictions in England?
Map: where do pubs face the most serve restrictions in England?

Related tags: Coronavirus, England, Greater manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham, Nottingham, Newcastle, Durham, Leicester

A tiered system of coronavirus measures came into effect on Wednesday 14 October, splicing the country into different sets of restrictions.

The Morning Advertiser (The MA)​ has mapped out which parts of the country are hardest hit.

Red represents areas under "very high" level restrictions while orange means the area is subject to measures under the "high" tier. Everywhere else is categorised as "medium". Areas set to go into new measures on Saturday 24 October have been labelled under their new categories.

For third tier areas, categorised as “very high”, new measures mean pubs must close unless they can serve substantial meals with alcohol.

Socialising between different households is banned in both indoor and outdoor settings, so friends who do not live together can not go to the pub together even for a meal.

What’s more, all non-essential travel has been banned and residents have been urged to remain close to home.

Socialising bans

Liverpool was the first area to be placed under the “very high” restrictions. Some 1,173 pubs operate in the city region, according to real estate adviser Altus Group.

Lancashire also joined the third tier, with changes coming into force just after midnight on Saturday 17 October. 

Greater Manchester faced the strictest restrictions from just after midnight on Friday 23 October.

In the second tier, restrictions mean venues can stay open subject to the 10pm curfew, mixing between households indoors will be banned and those socialising outside must abide by the “rule of six”.

Areas under this “high” alert category currently include: London, Barrow-in-Furness, York, North East Derbyshire, Chesterfield, and Essex.

Publicans in these areas have told The MA​ they would be better off closed​ given the hit to trade from the household mixing ban.

Chancellor Rishi Sunak announced further measures of support for businesses in tier two, including cash grants and enhanced wage subsidies. 

Coventry, Slough and Stoke will be placed under tier two measures on Saturday 24 October.

The rest of the country must follow the baseline of national restrictions at the “medium” alert level. This includes the “rule of six” for social gatherings and a 10pm curfew for pubs and bars.

Movers and shakers - which areas could change alert levels?

Areas within the “very high” category will be reviewed every four weeks with the Government promising that nowhere will be shut down indefinitely.

Local leaders were meeting with Government to discuss moving some areas in Nottingham, Warrington and West Yorkshire to tier three on 23 October.

It was confirmed Warrington would be moved into tier three in the coming days. 

Here is the list in full, as per the Government website​:

Local Covid alert level: medium

All areas in England are medium, apart from those listed below as high or very high.

Local Covid alert level: high


  • Slough (from 24 October)


  • Stoke-on-Trent (from 24 October)

West Midlands

  • Coventry (from 24 October)


  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cheshire East
  • Warrington


  • Barrow-in-Furness


  • Chesterfield
  • Erewash
  • High Peak ‒ the wards of:
    • Tintwistle
    • Padfield
    • Dinting
    • St John’s
    • Old Glossop
    • Whitfield
    • Simmondley
    • Gamesley
    • Howard Town
    • Hadfield South
    • Hadfield North


  • Basildon
  • Braintree
  • Brentwood
  • Castle Point
  • Chelmsford
  • Colchester
  • Epping Forest
  • Harlow
  • Maldon
  • Rochford
  • Tendring
  • Uttlesford


  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Burnley
  • Chorley
  • Fylde
  • Hyndburn
  • Lancaster
  • Pendle
  • Preston
  • Ribble Valley
  • Rossendale
  • South Ribble
  • West Lancashire
  • Wyre


  • City of London
  • Barking and Dagenham
  • Barnet
  • Bexley
  • Brent
  • Bromley
  • Camden
  • Croydon
  • Ealing
  • Enfield
  • Greenwich
  • Hackney
  • Hammersmith and Fulham
  • Haringey
  • Harrow
  • Havering
  • Hillingdon
  • Hounslow
  • Islington
  • Kensington and Chelsea
  • Kingston-upon-Thames
  • Lambeth
  • Lewisham
  • Merton
  • Newham
  • Redbridge
  • Richmond-upon-Thames
  • Southwark
  • Sutton
  • Tower Hamlets
  • Waltham Forest
  • Wandsworth
  • Westminster

North Yorkshire

  • York

West Yorkshire

  • Leeds
  • Bradford
  • Kirklees
  • Calderdale
  • Wakefield


  • Durham


  • Northumberland

Tyne and Wear

  • Newcastle
  • South Tyneside
  • North Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Sunderland

Tees Valley

  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool

West Midlands

  • Birmingham
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Wolverhampton
  • Walsall


  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston


  • Ashfield
  • Bassetlaw
  • Broxtowe
  • Gedling
  • Mansfield
  • Newark & Sherwood
  • Nottingham City
  • Rushcliffe

Local COVID alert level: very high

Liverpool City Region

  • Liverpool
  • Knowsley
  • Wirral
  • St Helens
  • Sefton
  • Halton

Greater Manchester

  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Manchester
  • Oldham
  • Rochdale
  • Salford
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan

South Yorkshire 

(From 24 October)

  • Barnsley
  • Doncaster
  • Rotherham
  • Sheffield
  • This article will be updated as things change. It was last updated on Monday 26 October.
  • For updates throughout the day, visit The MA's live blog.

Related topics: Legislation

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Pub Trade Guides

View more


Subscribe to The Morning Advertiser

The definitive voice for the pub trade

Get the latest news, analysis and insights from the uk pub sector straight to your inbox!