BT Sport Pub Cup returns with Wembley final

By Amelie Maurice-Jones

- Last updated on GMT

Summer of sport: Pub teams can now apply for the BT Sport Pub Cup
Summer of sport: Pub teams can now apply for the BT Sport Pub Cup

Related tags Sport Bt sport

Pub teams can now enter the BT Sport Pub Cup, with free BT Sport and £1,000 in BT Shop vouchers up for grabs for the victors of the tournament.

Teams can enter on behalf of any existing BT Sport pub, with one male and one female entry permitted per business. The competing teams will be selected at random on 25 May.

This year marks the fifth edition of the tournament and will see a record number of female teams participate when it kicks off on 12 June.

Each chosen team will be given a free Puma kit, with the winners receiving free BT Sport for their pub for the year, as well as £1,000 of BT Shop vouchers.

A bumper year for women's sport

Commercial Sport director of propositions and trading Alasdair Collis said: “In what is a bumper year for women’s sport, we are delighted to be able to accommodate a record number of women’s teams in the 2022 BT Sport Pub Cup and, once again, help make the dreams of both male and female footballers a reality by offering them the chance to play at Wembley.”

Seven-a-side regional qualifiers will place across the UK, and will start on 12 June at Manchester City’s Etihad training complex. The others will take place at the Crystal Palace training complex, the Oriam, Edinburgh and House of Sport, Cardiff, respectively on 16 June, then 2 and 9 of July.

How to enter

Eight men’s and eight women’s teams will then play in the 11-a-side semi-finals at Manchester City’s Etihad complex on Sunday 24 July, before the grand final at Wembley Stadium on Friday 18 November.

The 2021 edition of the BT Sport Pub Cup saw Brighton pub, the Victoria, crowned champions of the men’s tournament, following their 4-0 demolition of Bradford’s New Line. Meanwhile, the women’s tournament was won by the Golden Hind who beat Shifnal Town Sports Bar 1-0 in a repeat of the 2019 Women’s Final.

Entries close at 4pm on 25 May, and all successful entrants will be notified by the BT Sport team by 1 June 2022.

Teams can submit their entry at

Related topics Sport

Related news

Show more