Save the Pub Group

Save the Pub Group: A Timeline

By Sara Hussein

- Last updated on GMT

The Morning Advertiser looks over the past eight years at the group’s achievements
The Morning Advertiser looks over the past eight years at the group’s achievements

Related tags Pub group Public house

After the news yesterday (10 January) that MP Greg Mullholland was being replaced by Labour MP Toby Perkins as chairman of the All Parliamentary Save the Pub Group, The Morning Advertiser looks over the past eight years at the group’s achievements, challenges and defeats.

2009:​ Mulholland sets up the Parliamentary Save the Pub Group in a bid to form a campaigning group of “pro-pub” MPs to address the “wave” of pub closures.

2011: ​Mulholland is voted one of the Campaign for Real Ale’s (CAMRA) top 40 Campaigners of all time by its members.

2013: ​ The Beer Duty Escalator is scrapped in the Autumn Budget as the group works closely with the British Beer & Pub Association (BBPA), SIBA (Society of Independent Brewers), Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) and the Independent Family Brewers of Britain (IFBB).

Fair Deal for your Local campaigning is born to oppose the “unfair pubco model” that exposed pubs to more risk of closing than freehouses. The group campaigned to introduce a “free tie option” for pubs. Many more MPs backed the campaign, which received great support.


2014:​ In October, the group set up a lobbying campaign of MPs in Parliament to include the market-rent-only (MRO) option for pubs. In November, the group wins a “sensational” victory in the House of Lords.

2015:​ MRO comes into law in March. In December, the British Pub Confederation is formed, of which Mulholland is chair.

2016:​ In December 2016 the group fails to add a new clause to the Neighbourhood Planning Bill, which would have required planning permission to demolish pubs or convert them into other venues.  The amendment was defeated, with 274 MPs voting against the change and 161 in favour.

2017:​ Greg Mulholland replaced by Labour MP Toby Perkins as chairman.

Read: Mulholland replaced as Save the Pub Group chair

Liberal Democrat MP Greg Mulholland congratulates Toby Perkins on being elected as the new chairman of Save the Pub Group, while he concentrates on the “more important” role of chairing the British Pub Confederation.

Read: Paul Newby’s Position to be debated in Parliament

Paul Newby’s position as the pub’s code adjudicator and implementation of the code is to be discussed by MP Greg Mulholland in the House of Commons.

Read: Pubco reform campaigners join forces to form super group

Pub campaigners form the British Pub Confederation to ensure pubs and operators have a “powerful, united voice” in campaigning and lobbying the Government. Greg Mulholland, chair of the group, focuses on the reform of the tied model for pubs.

Read: The Big Interview: Mulholland on controversy, Super-ACVs and the pub’s code

Greg Mulholland speaks to The Morning Advertiser​ in a lengthy interview on the controversial market-rent-only (MRO) option and his battle for pubs to gain asset of community value (ACV) status.

Read: Save the Pub Group fails to get change in planning law through Parliament

The campaign group fails to scrap permitted development rights in the Neighbourhood Planning Bill. The group put forward an amendment to the planning proposals, which would have given more protection to pubs.  

Related topics Legislation

Related news

Show more