£17.5k prize fund for Guild of Beer Writers competition

By Gary Lloyd

- Last updated on GMT

All wright on the night: overall Beer Writer of the Year Pete Brown (centre) with other winners in 2021
All wright on the night: overall Beer Writer of the Year Pete Brown (centre) with other winners in 2021

Related tags Branding + marketing Finance Social responsibility

The Guild of Beer Writers’ annual awards have opened for entries with 16 categories available and a chance to win a share of the £17,500 prize fund.

The competition is open to journalists, writers, bloggers, broadcasters and photographers who communicate about beer or pubs with a deadline of 2 September.

Two new awards are being launched, for Best Communication About Diversity in Beer, and for Best Communication about Cider. Meanwhile, several categories have been reshaped to better reflect the way writers and others communicate about beer and pubs.

Further the guild’s mission

All entries will be judged on how well they further the guild's mission “to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs” with judging to be carried out by a panel of writers, communicators and industry experts chaired by Pete Brown, current Beer Writer of the Year.

The awards will take place on 23 November at One Great George Street in London.

Competition unwavering

Guild chair Emma Inch said: “Despite the challenges for our industry over the past couple of years, support for the competition has been unwavering, both from the brewers and others who sponsor the awards, and from the communicators who enter their work. 

“We’d urge anyone who communicates about beer, pubs or cider to look out their best writing, audio, video or other communication from the past 12 months and enter: the awards are open to all, and all have an equal chance of winning.”

After initial judging, the guild will publish a shortlist for all categories in November, and winners and runners up for each will be unveiled at the Awards Dinner. One category winner will go on to win the overall Beer Writer of the Year Award and the Guild also will also name its Brewer of the Year.

Click here​ to see the categories, prizes available and details on how to enter.

Related topics Events & Occasions

Related news

Show more